Ah, the Butterfly

IMG_2092LOTS of butterfly medicine this summer! I’m excited tonight for the delivery of more lessons.

Earlier in June, i remember experiencing this erratic butterfly zooming around the Earth house.   I was really actually taken back by it, this yellow/black beauty was fluttering and flying into things, and acting so out of control.  I got out my phone and took a video of it, because it hung out for a long time, and it was acting so strange.  Tonight, while standing out on the deck, I was reminded of that when another butterfly floated down from the rooftop. At first I thought it was a leaf, because there was no movement.  This butterfly descended downward gliding completely without any movement at all.  and I guess because of the current wind/weather, he was allowed to swoop downward straight and direct for most of the flight, until it was blown slightly off to the side.  It was as amazing as the erratic movements, in completely an opposite way.

The tattoo I have on my back of a butterfly reminds me of my clan, the Butterfly.  I listen to wings quite clearly, and I guess I understand them.  So I wanted to share with you tonight, in my own lessons i’m living right now.

IMG_2090

This is the actual crazy butterfly, who lingered a lot so I could take his picture

IMG_4822

The Earth Home

As I was sitting out here, after our community meeting, I was realizing that I am only slightly better off position than when i was when I moved into the Earth house to regain footing,  but for some reason, I wasn’t feeling worried anymore.  I was feeling this, as i noticed the gliding butterfly drop down.  I had just had the thoughts, well you should be freaking out, but for some reason you are not, and it feels really good, and I thank you for noticing. (yes, frequently discussing things with my self)

I  didn’t feel like I was fluttering around anymore, I was finally starting to  feel somehow at ease with this time in my life.   I get to glide around, feel myself again, shift into whatever comes next for me, and because of the amazing people I surround myself with, I am feeling supported, safe, and that’s pretty much everything.  I don’t have to flap my wings like a crazy butterfly, I get to glide like the dive-bomber one.

photo 3

Look! I found myself in my own treasure chest!

Possessions and house are gone, and all that is left are clothes and big puppy 🙂  At first this was so terrifying, and at times I feel the need to mourn all the STUFF, but the reality is, I am just me now.  I have nothing except who I am, what I can offer, how I can be of service, how to live out life in this body.   It’s a beautiful thing, the shedding of excess.  The gift is, perspective into self.  The naked self.

The first butterfly had come to tell me this with his crazy behavior.  I should have been paying attention, and I was too crazy in my head to hear it. He even stopped a long time and made sure I saw him, but again, deaf!  But I am not until right now, understanding his message, delivered on the back of the gliding butterfly.

One butterfly reminded me I was erratic, unfocused, not seeing clearly,  bumping into things… and during this time, I was dreaming heavily, and was literally panicked at the thought of having to leave, where would I go next, what would I do,  how much money would it take, and the worries went on.  The second butterfly floated without effort, and floated another direction freely and showed me how much energy i might save by just going with the flow.  Maybe it will give me a chance to see things clearer because I’m not flapping around.

hang-gliding-glider-extreme-sports-photographers-action-sport-photography-durango-coloradoI decided to just glide with it.  I have no trouble putting my heart and energy wherever I happen to be.  Bloom where you’re planted.  And so far, my roots have done well in a few different pots.  Making the decision, to not make a decision,  when I don’t know an answer, is also a great gift I gave myself.

So, I wanted to bring to the table more information about the Butterfly, and hope that you pay attention to the message yours might deliver (better than me first time around!)

Butterfly Clan Member Birthdates

January 20th-February 18th
May 21st-June 20th
September 23rd-October 23rd

What Butterfly Offers You
Butterfly means that transformation is always available to you, and may begin without your conscious participation. Study the process of metamorphosis. What stage are you in?

(1) Are you in the conception stage, just beginning a process of change?
(2) Get clear about what you want the end result to be! Have you fully decided to do it?
(3) Are you in the planning or development stage? Creating the change?
(4) Or are you about to bring the change to life, give birth to it?

“Whatever part of the cycle you’re in—be it the larva phase, the cocoon stage or the emergent phase, where you spread your wings and float into your new life—know that you’re safe and that this is part of a natural movement.”

How to Connect More Deeply

(1) Use elemi, to help create balance between the spiritual and wordly aspects of your life.
(2) Get outside and enjoy watching the butterflies dance. Dance, yourself!
(3) Think of a change you might like to make or something you want to create, and let butterfly help you go through each stage of the process.

Butterfly Lessons

Butterfly can help you organize the project you’re working on or get clear about how to order your steps each day. It also can awaken a sense of joy, an appreciation of nature, and a trust in the process of transformation.

and I really like this reminder about the symbolism surrounding the butterfly, and what it is there to teach us.   This comes from http://www.birdclan.org/butterfly.html – thank you Bird Clan!

Butterfly Medicine
Transformation Photographs
provided by Professor Lacy Hyche
Scientific research has shown that the butterfly is the only living being capable of changing entirely its genetic structure during the process of transformation: the caterpillar’s DNA is totally different from the butterfly’s. Thus, it is the symbol of total transformation.

Butterfly represents a need for change and greater freedom, and at the same time it represents courage: one requires courage to carry out the changes necessary in the process of growth.

Butterfly medicine is the never-ending cycle of self-transformation, reincarnation, and magick. To use Butterfly medicine, you must astutely observe your position in the cycle of self-transformation or transmutation. Like Butterfly, you are always at a certain station in your life activities. You may be at the egg stage,

which is the beginning of all things. This is the stage at which an idea is born, but has not yet become a reality. The larva stage is the point at which you decide to create the idea in the physical world. The cocoon stage involves “going within”; doing or developing your project, idea, or aspect of personality. The final stage of transformation or transmutation is the leaving of the chrysalis and birth. The last step involves sharing the colors and joy of your creation with the world.
Butterfly can give clarity to your mental process, help you organize the project you are undertaking, and assist you in finding the next step for your personal life or career. The main message to be obtained from Butterfly is that you are ready to undergo some type of transformation or internal growth.
The Butterfly has known many forms before it takes flight. The power that Butterfly brings to us is akin to the air. It is the mind, and the ability to know the mind or to change it. It is the art of transformation.

Life Struggles

A man found a cocoon of a Spicebush Swallowtail Butterfly. He took it home so that he could watch the Butterfly come out of the cocoon. On the day a small opening appeared, he sat and watched the Butterfly for several hours as the Butterfly struggled to force the body through that little hole.Then it seemed to stop making any progress. It appeared as if it had gotten as far as it could and it could go no farther. It just seemed to be stuck. Then the man, in his kindness, decided to help the Butterfly, so he took a pair of scissors and

snipped off the remaining bit of the cocoon. The Butterfly then emerged easily. But it had a swollen body and small, shriveled wings. The man continued to watch the Butterfly because he expected that, at any moment, the wings would enlarge and expand to be able to support the body, which would contract in time. Neither happened! In fact, the little Butterfly spent the rest of its life crawling around with a swollen body and shriveled wings. It never was able to fly.
What the man in his kindness and haste did not understand was that the restricting cocoon and the struggle required for the Butterfly to get through the tiny opening was the way of forcing fluid from the body of the Butterfly into its wings so that it would be ready for flight once it achieved its freedom from the cocoon. Freedom and flight would only come after the struggle. By depriving the Butterfly of a struggle, he deprived the Butterfly of health.

Sometimes struggles are exactly what we need in our life. If we were to go through our life without any obstacles, we would be crippled. We would not be as strong as what we could have been. Give every opportunity a chance, leave no room for regrets.

Leave a Reply

